Free Write Friday (It’s not a Friday, but who cares.)

It’s Sunday morning, I’m wide awake from making one too many espressos, and I decided it’d be the perfect time to do my first Free Write Friday–two days late. Basically, Kellie Elmore gives you a prompt, you get inspired, and you write whatever comes to mind. I prefer creative writing with some sort of imagery, and that’s what I did. Enjoy. 🙂

Here was the prompt:

You suddenly find yourself standing alone on an unknown sidewalk in an unknown place. It’s night and snowing and the only other person around is walking away from you….

You suddenly find yourself standing alone on an unknown sidewalk in an unknown place. It’s night and snowing and the only other person around is walking away from you….

The Girl With the Umbrella

On a cold night late last winter, the snow fell around me as I stood and stared into the darkness. Silently, the flakes floated from the winter sky and blanketed the sidewalks. There, in the distance, The Girl With the Umbrella was walking away from me. She never looked back at me—not even a single glance from the corner of her eye. I half wished she would come running back; I wished I could run after her. I opened my mouth to call her name, but no sound came out. Even though she was once a part of me, I knew it was best that we were now separated.

We grew up together—The Girl and I—we were one and the same. She was always hiding behind the umbrella and shielding us from everything: the sun, the rain, and the world. Then there was me: wanting to soak up the sun, get drenched in the rain, and meet new people, yet never able to see beyond the umbrella. Her grip on my hand was tight; her whispers quiet, yet forceful in my ear. “No, don’t step out from underneath my umbrella. It’s safe and dry here. See, nothing can touch us or harm us as long as we remain shielded behind it.”

This night, I had had enough. I decided, once and for all, to step out from underneath the umbrella and pry my hand from her grasp. She yelled, kicked, and screamed at me. Then, she pleaded and begged me not to cast her out in the cold. “We’re a team!” she sobbed as she twisted the umbrella in her white hands, “You won’t survive without my protection!” In the blustery wind, with snow blurring my vision, I stood firm. I knew that if I was to become the woman I wanted to be, I had to send her away.

Finally, realizing that I was not going to step back underneath the umbrella, she turned and strode away. I stood watching until she disappeared around the corner taking with her everything she had represented: fear, bitterness, and shyness. With a sense of new-found wonder, I looked at my hand that had always been gripped in hers. I opened and closed my fist and reveled in the freedom I felt there. Despite the darkness and cold surrounding me, I felt as pure and as free as the snow that covered The Girl’s footprints.

7 thoughts on “Free Write Friday (It’s not a Friday, but who cares.)

  1. I am late as well, sorry bout that. I would like to welcome you to FWF! Such a pleasure to have you join our little society of writing bandits (as I like to call them). You are a gifted writer and story teller and your imagery abounds! It was a treat to read and I look forward to having you join us again.
    Much love and happy penning ♥
    Kellie

Leave a Reply

